1. Documentation
  2. WooCommerce Payments
  3. WooCommerce Payments FAQs

What happens to my subscriptions if I deactivate WooCommerce Payments?

When using WooCommerce Payments, you have two options to sell subscription products:

  1. Built-in subscription functionality; or
  2. WooCommerce Subscriptions extension.

If you deactivate the WooCommerce Payments plugin when using the WooCommerce Subscriptions extension, then subscriptions using WooCommerce Payments as the payment method will transition to use manual renewals. Renewal orders will be created once payment is due. These orders will require subscribers to login and pay for renewal to resume the subscription, even if the subscription had automatic renewal payments prior to the WooCommerce Payments plugin being deactivated.

For subscriptions set up with WooCommerce Payments, because of the off-site billing engine, any subscriptions that were not cancelled prior to the plugin being deactivated will continue to collect payments from their customers. Because the plugin is disabled, however, the site will no longer generate corresponding orders and associated emails in WooCommerce.

If you do not want payments to continue to be processed, cancel all subscriptions before deactivating the plugin.

WooCommerce - the most customizable eCommerce platform for building your online business.

  • 30 day money back guarantee
  • Support teams across the world
  • Safe & Secure online payment