When using WooCommerce Payments, you have two options to sell subscription products:
These two options can work well together or WooCommerce Payments with it’s built in subscriptions features can work as a stand alone solution as well. This guide explains the behaviour when one or both are deactivated.
If WooCommerce Payments and WooCommerce Subscriptions are both deactivated, all subscription-related functionality will also be disabled along with them. None of your products, subscriptions, etc. are lost. Those remain and would appear and continue working if you did reactivate both.
If your store is using WooCommerce Payments, and the WooCommerce Subscriptions extension is deactivated, your store will switch to use the subscriptions functionality built into WooCommerce Payments.
For existing subscriptions, renewal orders will be created once payment is due. These orders will require subscribers to login and pay for renewal to resume the subscription, even if the subscription had automatic renewal payments prior to deactivation.
After clicking Deactivate on the WooCommerce Subscriptions plugin, a notice will be displayed to inform you of this change and the impact on your subscriptions.
If you wish to remove all subscription functionality from your store after deactivating the WooCommerce Subscriptions plugin, you can also disable subscriptions with WooCommerce Payments.
To disable the built-in subscriptions functionality:
- Go to Payments > Settings
- Click Advanced settings at the bottom of the screen
- Click Enable Subscriptions with WooCommerce Payments to uncheck the box
The subscription functionality built into WooCommerce Payments will now be disabled.
When temporarily disabling subscriptions functionality, either through the WooCommerce Subscriptions extension or in WooCommerce Payments, you may also need to disable scheduled actions.