1. Documentation /
  2. WooCommerce Payments Documentation /
  3. WooCommerce Payments: Account Management /
  4. How do I delete or stop using my WooCommerce Payments account?

How do I delete or stop using my WooCommerce Payments account?

Because WooCommerce Payments accounts contain information that we must retain for tax and compliance purposes, they can only be deleted in a limited set of circumstances.

Additionally, WooCommerce Payments accounts can only be deleted by our support staff. There is no self-serve method to delete your account. Even deactivating and deleting the WooCommerce Payments plugin will not delete the account itself.

When can an account be deleted?

↑ Back to top

Accounts can only be deleted if all of the following are true:

  • The account has not processed any live transactions.
  • The account status is not Rejected.
  • The account does not have deposits suspended.

Even if your account cannot be deleted, you can still stop using it for new orders.

How do I delete my account?

↑ Back to top

If your account meets all of the above requirements and you wish to delete it, please contact support to do so. Include your site’s URL and the email address associated with your account in your message.

After we receive your request, we will review your account and confirm that it’s eligible for deletion. We’ll ask for your approval one last time, and if you confirm, we will then delete the account.

Once an account is deleted, it is not recoverable.

How do I stop using my account?

↑ Back to top

If your account does not qualify for deletion, you can still stop using it whenever you want. To do so, follow these steps:

  1. In your site’s dashboard, go to Payments > Settings.
  2. Uncheck the “Enable WooCommerce Payments” box.
  1. Scroll to the bottom and click Save Changes.

This will disable WooCommerce Payments as a method for customers to pay for new orders. However, you will still be able to use the plugin to issue refunds, respond to disputes, view transaction data, and so on.

Can I reuse an email address after account deletion?

↑ Back to top

Yes. If the account qualifies for deletion, then the email address associated with that account will be “freed up” once the original account is deleted.

WooCommerce

The most customizable eCommerce platform for building your online business.

  • 30-day money-back guarantee
  • Support teams across the world
  • Safe and secure online payment