Introducing Yotpo Social Reviews for WooCommerce

Written by Joel on July 17, 2013 Blog.

yotpo-1

Justin Butlion
Justin Butlion

Justin Butlion is the Content and Social Marketing Manager of Yotpo. Justin loves to blog about ecommerce, online marketing, web development and entrepreneurship. Check out his latest posts or contact him directly at justin@yotpo.com.

More and more online stores are turning to product reviews as a way to leverage user generated content to communicate the best aspects of their products and services. One service which is taking product reviews to a new level is Yotpo Social Reviews which just launched its WooCommerce extension.

Yotpo is a free plug and play product reviews solution for eCommerce sites. Yotpo converts on average 8% of customers to reviewers through its highly affective mail after purchase emails (screenshot below) which are sent automatically to customers a certain number of days after they make a purchase on your store. Just so you can understand how effective Yotpo is at generating reviews, the industry average for converting customers to reviewers is around 1.2%.

After purchase email
Yotpo’s mail after purchase emails are highly optimized for conversion and look great on both mobile and desktop

In addition to being effective in generating reviews, Yotpo goes one step further by providing a wide range of features to help store owners leverage the user generated content produced by past customers. Yotpo’s social sharing feature makes it easy for Yotpo customers to automatically share their reviews to their business’s Facebook page or Twitter account. These shared reviews help drive qualified traffic back to the Yotpo customer’s store which helps increase engagement and the total number of sales.

Facebook page of yotpo customer.
Example of a review shared on the Facebook page of a Yotpo Customer.

Yotpo recently launched their ‘Campaigns’ feature which is a kind of smart dashboard that provides a number of stats on the different channels that Yotpo provides to drive traffic to a customer’s site. With the Campaigns feature customers can easy identify the most profitable channel in Yotpo for their store and the $ value the free service brings them.

yotpo3
The Yotpo Campaigns feature shows some awesome stats on how the service is helping you make more money.

Yotpo has really thought of everything. The service is very easy to use and installing it in Woocommerce will take you less than 10 minutes. Customers have access to a comprehensive moderation section, reviews archive, and easy to use tools for customization of Yotpo’s widgets, mail after purchase email and social sharing template.

Yotpo customers are also blessed with a powerful coupons feature which can be used to incentivize customers to write reviews or to share them on their social networks or both.

So what are you waiting for? Take 10 minutes (I bet you only need 8) and go and install Yotpo so you too can join over 12,000 online merchants that are taking advantage of the most powerful free social reviews solution on the market.

cta-banner-10-product-page-v2_2x

17 Responses

  1. Grumbledook
    July 17, 2013 at 8:17 pm #

    Looks useful, though I wonder how does it combine with the follow up emails extension that I’ve already paid for?

    http://woocommerce.com/products/follow-up-emails/

    Is there a comparison anywhere?

    • Justin Butlion
      July 18, 2013 at 11:31 am #

      Firstly, thank you very much to Joel and the entire WooThemes team for helping us out with our integration and for publishing my guest post. We are looking forward to this partnership and growing with you guys.

      Regarding your question Grumbledook.

      The main differences between Yotpo and the follow up emails extension you mentioned are:

      1. Yotpo’s focus is on generating product reviews and helping you gain more traffic and sales from the user generated content.
      2. Yotpo shows your reviews within a highly customizable widget on your site.
      3. Yotpo has a deep social integration which makes it easy for users to share their reviews to their business’s Facebook page and Twitter account.
      4. Powerful coupons feature which can be used to incentivize customers to generate more reviews or share them to their social networks.
      5. Yotpo is free.

      If you have any additional questions please let me know.

      • Justin Butlion
        July 18, 2013 at 11:32 am #

        Firstly, thank you very much to Joel and the entire WooThemes team for helping us out with our integration and for publishing my guest post. We are looking forward to this partnership and growing with you guys.

        Regarding your question Grumbledook.

        The main differences between Yotpo and the follow up emails extension you mentioned are:

        1. Yotpo’s focus is on generating product reviews and helping you gain more traffic and sales from the user generated content.
        2. Yotpo shows your reviews within a highly customizable widget on your site.
        3. Yotpo has a deep social integration which makes it easy for users to share their reviews to their business’s Facebook page and Twitter account.
        4. Powerful coupons feature which can be used to incentivize customers to generate more reviews or share them to their social networks.
        5. Yotpo is free.

        If you have any additional questions please let me know.

  2. Luke
    July 18, 2013 at 2:36 pm #

    Does Yotpo work on Magento?

    • Ryan Ray
      July 19, 2013 at 6:35 am #

      It appears so, check out their homepage. It shows Mangento being a support platform

      If you are on our site, I don’t know why you’d want to use Magento though! 😉

      Only slightly kidding!

      • Luke
        July 19, 2013 at 11:56 am #

        I do use woocommerce 🙂

        Although the way you handle product variations is out dated, you handle product variations in the same way as Interspire used to. Magento has product variations nailed down.

        This is the reason why many of my clients are using Magento, even though I have attempted to move them onto woocommerce.

        Luke

    • Justin Butlion
      July 19, 2013 at 11:47 am #

      Yes, Yotpo works with Magento and many other eCommerce platforms.

  3. fiddlerstudios
    July 19, 2013 at 6:31 pm #

    So how does Yotpo make money? If the extension is free, do we have to pay for the Yotpo service?

    • Martijn
      July 19, 2013 at 10:14 pm #

      I guess Yotpo will make money from all the content (reviews, photos, and videos) that will be uploaded onto their system by your customers: “by submitting, transmitting and/or allowing your end users to submit or transmit any Review(s) to the Site and/or through the Services you undertake to ensure that any such End Users grant Yotpo and you a nonexclusive, perpetual, irrevocable, worldwide, fully paid-up, royalty-free license, with the right to sub license, to use, transfer, copy, reproduce, distribute, publicly perform, publicly display, digitally perform, modify, directly or through third parties, create derivative works of, your Reviews and otherwise use and commercially exploit any text, videos, photographs or other data and information you submit to the Site and/or through the Services, in any media formats. Such license will apply to any form, media, or technology now known or hereafter developed”

    • Justin Butlion
      July 21, 2013 at 8:01 am #

      Yotpo is a free service for all websites that have up to 1 million page views per month. Sites that have more than 1 million page views pay Yotpo $100 per month.

  4. Martijn
    July 22, 2013 at 4:44 pm #

    Do I understand correctly that this plugin is just for product reviewing? I’m looking for a plugin which will help me auto email my customers after a purchase to review my complete service as a testimonial. Would this be suited?

    • Justin Butlion
      July 23, 2013 at 5:03 pm #

      Currently our mail after purchase emails are only designed to gather reviews for your products but our Testimonials feature is designed to help you get site reviews.

  5. cwlavine
    July 23, 2013 at 1:46 am #

    Justin,

    Does this install in the Reviews tab within WooCommerce? Or can it be used within a custom tab? I am using Disqus for my blog and been unable to use the Review tab within WooCommerce.

    • Justin Butlion
      July 23, 2013 at 5:07 pm #

      You have the option to have the widget appear in a tab or without. If you would like a custom placement then feel free to email us at support at yotpo dot com and we will do what we can.

  6. Mike
    July 24, 2013 at 2:11 pm #

    Justin,

    This looks great.

    How does it work with all the existing reviews people have left in WooCommerce products already? Can they be imported/merged… etc

    It would be great to see a live demo of this on a WooCommerce site.

    Cheers

  7. Karol
    August 5, 2013 at 11:59 pm #

    Hello,

    Do you know how can I integrate Yotpo with woocmerce coupons so it will generate codes for each email ?

    Thanks!

  8. Steve Woody
    August 12, 2013 at 3:20 am #

    I like the recent reviews from Woo Commerce, Is there anyway to integrate this plugin to still update or replace the sidebar widget for reviews ?

WooCommerce - the most customizable eCommerce platform for building your online business.

  • 30 day money back guarantee
  • Support teams across the world
  • Safe & Secure online payment
%d bloggers like this: